Home Inspector Training Steps

Follow These Easy Steps to Become a Home Inspector in Arkansas

Complete online home inspector training

The state of Arkansas requires 80 hours of online education.

Complete in person home inspector ride-alongs

Arkansas does not require in person ride-alongs.

Pass the National Home Inspector Exam

To get your home inspector license, Arkansas requires you to pass the national home inspector exam.

Apply for your home inspector license

Apply for your home inspector license with The Arkansas Department of Labor.

Complete your Continuing Education for your Arkansas License

Find a Continuing Education Provider

14 Hours of Continuing Education is required every year.

Individual Membership

$125 | $450

Quarterly or Annual
Neighborhood, Home inspector training texas

How long does it take to get your home inspector license?

Expect at least 2-6 months for your home inspector license training. This of course can change based on situation, but those who work regular hours should expect at least this much time to acquire your home inspector license.

How much does a home inspector in Arkansas make?

The average home inspection salary in Arkansas is $49,826. However, is the salary the only factor you should consider? Value of the dollar, income adjusted by the cost of living, real estate transactions, these are all things you should consider when looking at starting your business. Read our article to see how your state ranks, #2 will surprise you!

How Long Does It Take To Acquire A Home Inspector License In Arkansas?

There’s no state that requires more than a year of training. Most requirements take 2-6 months to complete. What’s important is to make a decision! If you’re going to take the dive into starting your home inspection business, start your education today!

Should I take an exam preparation course for Arkansas?

If you pay for a school and can’t pass the NHIE and State exams, then are you choosing the right school? We at Super Inspector Training Academy believe if you go through our classes, then you should be able to pass any tests we prepare you for. If you finish our courses and are still nervous, we encourage you to re-take our finals. Find the TREC Inspector school pass rate here.

Should I Start My Home Inspection Business In Arkansas?

You’re going to be successful if you commit to it and learn the best business building practices. If you want to find the state with the biggest bang for your buck, check out our in-depth article: Home Inspector Salary State-by-State. We have multiple criteria that is both ranked and graded so you can decide which state would be best for your home inspection business!

Requirements for a Home Inspector License in Arkansas

State Requirements

Arkansas Flag, Home inspector training in Texas, Champions

It is recommended to visit the Arkansas Department of Labor website to keep current with requirements.

Currently the rules for a home inspector license read as such:


  • Completion of an Apprenticeship will be required for home inspector licensure in Arkansas. This training will be in addition to the 80-hr pre-registration course.
  • Requirements for the apprenticeship training include a minimum of three home inspections with a total of no less than ten hours. The training must be with a board-approved trainer and the training can be completed with 1-3 trainers of your choice.
  • Here is a list of approved Arkansas trainers.
  • Read the Arkansas law regulating the practice of home inspection in Arkansas. You can access this law at: Arkansas Code
  • Read the Arkansas Standards of Practice and Code of Ethics. The registration board has designated these as the standards and code of ethics to be followed by Arkansas home inspectors. You can access the Arkansas Standards of Practice at: Standards of Practice
  • Take the competency examination, which is required by Arkansas Code Annotated 17-52-315(b) has been designated by the Registration Board to consist of two parts: a) The National Home Inspector Examination: Information is accessible on the Internet at: Home Inspector Exam (nationalhomeinspectorexam.org). B) The ASHI Standards of Practice and Code of Ethics Examination: Information is accessible on the internet at: American Society of Home Inspectors (catglobal.com).
  • Download the registration application form (AP-1)
  • Purchase at least $100,000 in general liability insurance coverage. Obtain an original copy of a Certificate of Insurance.
  • Complete the registration of application and have it notarized.
  • Mail the application to the Board office.

Looking for a job in Arkansas? See if our sister company Super Team Services is hiring, here.

Check out our courses to see our educational offerings for how to become a home inspector and help you on your path towards your license.

Not your state? Go back to the state map here.

Shopping Cart